JAPAN, I’M NEARLY THERE. LIKE SERIOUSLY. I CAN TASTE IT. IT TASTES LIKE RAMEN.

So, it’s a well known (well, after this post, it will be) that I will be traveling to the oddball nation that is known as Japan in the coming week. Suffice to say, I am both stoked and mortified. I am stoked as, like any self-respecting Internet-Nerd, I want to go to Japan. I want to go buy ramen candy. I want to take pictures of Harajuku gals (and guys) dressed to the nines in puffy petticoats (yes, even the guys). And most of all, oddly enough, I want to take a picture of that massive crab on that store that, amazingly enough, sells crab. No seriously, you don’t know how bad I want to do that. Just, really bad. SEE NOTE

In any case, mortification about traveling to Japan has also come in throes of positionary-aligned-anxiety. Meaning – I am really scared about being completely and utterly lost. A sentiment that I expressed in one of my previous posts, this fear is ongoing. As a rule, I am actually quite proficient at positionary skills. I usually know exactly where I am and exactly how I can get somewhere (unless I need to read a map, then we’re pretty much all buggered, as both my boyfriend and Adam are clearly familiar with). Many a time, I have had to convince my dear Bee Eff that “No, that’s the wrong direction, we need to go left. You wanna bet? Okay, fifty. Fifty dollars I’m right.” Well, it’s either that, or he’s extremely bad at directionality (a possibility).

THUS, MY ANXIETY. I don’t like not knowing exactly where I am, and how to get the frak out of a building. Singapore’s labyrinth of underground tunnels under the main shopping strip was horrifying enough – now I have to go to Japan, crammed in with extremely polite Japanese folk who will be staring at the wild-eyed and bushy-haired me in wonderment and possibly, a little fear: “Who is this woman? Why does she look so very lost? Why does she have an ice-cream on her head?^ Where can I get one of those?”

So, despite my ever burgeoning fears, I will make a spirited attempt to shuffle my less than enthusiastic form into making with touristy travel on the Yamanote {山手線} Train Line (we’re staying at the Shinagawa Prince, a two minute stroll from Shinagawa train station) – HERE’S A LIST OF PLACES I WOULD LIKE TO VISIT:

1. HARAJUKU

    IMG SOURCE: Adam Goldberg {LINK}

HARAJUKU GIRLS ARE WIN! I’m in it to take picture of the odd-balls dressed up in awesome kit – and to make things even better, I have my dear boyfriend’s STALKER LENS to take photos of them, because sure as heck, my dear mother won’t be keen on getting too close due to her unsettling paranoia of anything even an inkling “un-conservative”. Yeah, she’s actually a racist Asian lady, but she insists she’s just “Being Safe”. Whatever ma, we know you too well, you crazy hypochondriac. Also, shopping. I LOVE SHOPPING. I mean, a lot.

2. AKIHABARA

    IMG SOURCE: Terra Spirit {LINK}

Akihabara (秋葉原) (“Field of Autumn Leaves”), also known as Akihabara Electric Town (秋葉原電気街, Akihabara Denki Gai), if you don’t know of this place, then how do I know you? Honestly, it’s nerd kingdom. And I have been enlisted by my dear boyfriend to tread tensely into this area to purchase him a Gundum but the not-at-all-girly name of Unicorn. No really. Mobile Suit Gundam Unicorn. Really.

2. UENO KOEN & TOKYO NATIONAL MUSEUM
It is important to be cultured. Essentially why I must visit AT LEAST one park and AT LEAST one museum. Also, I hear this whole section in Ueno is a great place to chill for the whole day absorbing as much cultural information as humanly possible – so I’m in. Oh yes, they also have big pond in the center – which you can paddle about in for an hour at 500 yen – so keen to do that, except for my mother’s irrational fear of boats.

3. SENSO-JI

    IMG SOURCE: Muza-Chan.net {LINK}

Also, I must visit AT LEAST one shrine/temple. This is the most iconic – THUS I WILL VISIT IT.

4. DON QUIJOTE / TOKYU HANDS / DAISO / SEKAIDO So sue me, I want to buy just loads of senseless dribble – and also presents for people (essentially, senseless dribble). I also want to load myself up with enough pens to cause my suitcase to explode. I mean, THAT MANY PENS. I like pens, BTW. {LINKS} DON QUIJOTE / TOKYU HANDS / DAISO / SEKAIDO

5. THAT PLACE WITH THE CRAB ON THE FRONT

    IMG SOURCE: Traveler Folio {LINK}

I all honesty, I haven’t got the slightest idea where this is. I have tried googling “That place with the giant spider crab on it” to no avail. Surprising really, I expect Google to be able to read my mind. And it can’t. You have let me down Google. You have let me down.SEE NOTE

^This may be an eventuality. I like ice-cream. It is also summer there.
THE NOTE: It seems that this PLACE WITH THE CRAB ON THE FRONT is in Osaka, of which I am not going to this time (next time, kids). Thanks Emma for the FYI. Such a bummer it is.*
*THE NOTE FOR THE NOTE: Wait! There’s one in Shinjuku! Ta Jen!

WISH ME LUCK FOLKS, I’M GOING TO NEED IT. ALSO, BE PREPARED FOR SOME SERIOUS IMAGE SPAMMING WHENCE I RETURN.

JAPAN, I’M NEARLY THERE. LIKE SERIOUSLY. I CAN TASTE IT. IT TASTES LIKE RAMEN.

18 thoughts on “JAPAN, I’M NEARLY THERE. LIKE SERIOUSLY. I CAN TASTE IT. IT TASTES LIKE RAMEN.

  1. Zoraida says:

    Lol I think every Asian, our generation, has racist Asian parents .. it’s another one of those true stereotypes.

    Nevertheless have fun in Japan! Don’t get *too* lost, eat plenty of food and take lots of pictures!

    1. Asian parents – aye aye aye – it’s like they’re on a completely different planet!

      I can’t wait to munch on piles of yummy yummy ramen! ;D

  2. wooo its finally japan time! \:D/
    have loads of fun! and if you’re lost look for a map somewhere on the side of the road 🙂 they got them every intersection or so~ and and have some hamburg! 😀

  3. Flippin’ schweeet!

    Can’t wait to hear all about your trip. I’ll be there for two weeks in Oct. and we’ll be staying in Ueno! Yes, also really nervous on navigating ;P

    1. Hehe – cool! I’ll try to collate as much information as I humanly can! Ueno is a great place to stay – my uncle stayed there for about 6 months last year – lots of gardens and museums! 😀

  4. GREAT CHOICES!!!!!!! Gonna be lomo heaven!

    There’s the same giant crab restaurant in Shinjuku~ moves & everything 😉 no need to be in Osaka 😄

Leave a Reply

