HARAJUKU, THE SEQUEL.

ON DAY SIX of our time in Tokyo, my sister and I opted to return to Harajuku for a last shopping hurrah upon the rickety cobbled street of Takeshita Dori – this time, as the crowds were much abated from the weekend, we managed to really get a feel for the stores – and had time to explore them much more thoroughly and even take a little break by ducking into the local Starbucks. And also, not get ourselves smushed in the process.


With more time to investigate our surroundings, we came across the incalculable Omotesando Hills – a concrete catwalk that houses the very nauseating idea of half levels. Now, I’m open to new and amazing ideas when it comes to architecture, but with this one, I firmly believe that every aspiring architecture buff should stay firmly away. Especially if you happen to suffer from nauseating bouts of vertigo. Half-levels are a great idea, for, I don’t know, people who enjoy fractions, but realistically, walking around this shopping plaza was like being stuck in a M.C. Escher painting.

In this building, although the toilets were clearly signed, it took us a good 10 minutes to actually get there, due to the criminally slanted flooring. We could very well see where the loos were, we just couldn’t physically reach them without a) Taking the Lift, or b) walking an entire walkway around to the next full level. Suffice to say, after our first toilet trip, we quickly exited and were greatly relieved for our feet to reach flat ground.

The slanty floors at Omotesando Hills that gave us all severe vertigo.

As mentioned in my previous article, rows upon rows of cheapie clothes shops line the back alleys of Harajuku (Known as Takeshita Dori) – from frilly, fluffy petticoats to cotton ensembles mixed with the latest floral maxi-dresses and salopette, it was analogous to making criminally capitalistic purchases whilst encased in a marshmallow.


Some of the great purchases I made on this momentous day included:

Maxi dresses: That failed to be too ridiculously long. Now, if I attempted to make the same purchase in a shop back home, I would be looking to remove approximately a foot of fabric off the hem to avoid looking like the fabric rendering of “Cousin Itt” from the Addam’s Family – luckily for me, in Japan, excess fabric is a non-issue. Unfortunately, cold ankles most certainly is.
A denim salopette: This is an item that I told myself I WOULD NEVER BUY. I am not an overalls type of gal, but there’s me, in Japan, completely surrounded by young women clad in the cutest array of salopette. I caved to peer pressure and bought one. I have not worn it out once.
24 Hour Tattoo eyeliner: The mystery of the un-budgeable eye-liner that Japanese girls always seemed to have been blessed with in the sky-high temperatures and edible humidity, become a little less of a mystery when my sister and I came along this little line of products. Insanely potent, this product doesn’t move without a fight (one that seems to warrant the use of toilet bleach) – but true to its name, it fails to shift with nothing short of laser removal.
Bling from Paris Kids: This is possibly the most crowded Paris Kids I have ever come across in my simple life. On Sunday is was absolutely shocking, but I managed to get all of my appendages into the store on Monday. Now, for those who are not in the know, Paris Kids is the place to go for light-on-your-wallet accessories and gorgeous bling bling. I managed to score a plethora of adorable scrunchies and ear-lobe ice and after I exited from the store, I felt a sense of burning accomplishment. Most items in Paris Kids are only 315 YEN and they sell everything from charm bracelets, to usagi headbands to coloured contact lenses!
Stash of pens/arty farty things from Dasio: I went ballistic at Dasio today. I mean BALL – IS -TIC. I stocked up on everything from 3D phone deco, permanent markers, chalk markets, post-it-notes, notebooks, random juggly keyring holders and all other forms of crap. Seriously, check out my haul:

MY HAUL. WELL, SOME OF MY HAUL.

HARAJUKU, THE SEQUEL.

16 thoughts on “HARAJUKU, THE SEQUEL.

    1. Ohhh – they mostly speak Japanese over there –
      hardly anyone actually speaks any complicated English,
      so at times it got pretty hairy when trying to explain things!

      It once took a good 10 minutes for my sister to explain that she needed an extra bin in our room for all our trash – in the end, she had to draw a picture!

      XD

  1. oh wow everyone is visiting japan O.O
    I want to visit too XD

    It must be far exciting to be there & get to shop!
    just looking @ the image of the slanty flooring gave me vertigo haha”’

    1. Haha, I know, everyone seems to be visiting Japan recently!

      Just wandering about and not buying anything was good fun!
      I actually didn’t shop as much as everybody thought I did 😛

  2. The design in the bricklay in the last photo is soooooo trippy. I can’t stop staring at it.

    WOOT! Yay for cheap hauls! I always love looking at all the stuff I get for not-so-much money 😀 ahmuhguhhhhh! What a load indeed!! DOWANTJAPANNOW!

    Waugh…looking at the Omotesando Hills photo…getting vertigo thinking about being there DX

    1. CHEAP HAULS!
      I have to say, Japan is actually a very expensive place to visit – especially if you’ve got your hear set on shopping like a man-woman (hurr, like me) – clothing is horribly priced – and quite oddly so – a lot of the clothing is actually made in China, but is sold to the Japanese at an extortionist price! It’s shocking!

Leave a Reply

