JAYJAYNE PROJECT DEPT.; DISPOSABLE

EDIT: There is now a page dedicated to THE DISPOSABLE PROJECT Participants. Please look there for further updates!

FYI: I HAVE NO MORE CAMERAS LEFT TO SEND. IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO PARTICIPATE AND BUY YOUR OWN CAMERA, PLEASE EMAIL ME AND I WILL SEND YOU THE INSTRUCTIONS! KTHANKS!

After seeing this project in an archaic Monster Children magazine many years ago (I do believe the year was 2006, back when I was still in university and living vicariously off the dregs of three-day-old Coles Express chicken nibblets), I vowed that I would some day instigate a repeat of The Disposable Project in my own life.

WHAT IS THE DISPOSABLE PROJECT?
Why, that’s a good question. Watch your step when you get up kids, because Aunty Jayne is going to drop some knowledge. The Disposable Project is based on the love of all things analog, and in this case, the analog item in question is no, not a watch, nor a plane, not even Batman wearing a carbon fiber suit, no, it’s the humble Disposable Camera (Deserved of capitalization).

The Disposable Project involves giving several individuals Disposable Cameras and a list of items to shoot. They may take the images in any order, as long as they fulfill the task list and specify which image lines up with the specific task. The camera is then sent back, the film produced and the efforts posted up for the world to see.

WHAT IS THE POINT OF THE DISPOSABLE PROJECT?
The Ever Knowledgeable Aunty Jayne says: The Disposable Project is a fantastic outlet for individual’s to try out their artistic talents which still having a “Target List” to achieve. Think of it as a competitive MMORPG, but with Andy Warhol, Ansel Adams and Lomography as sponsors. DISCLAIMER: These folk are not my sponsors, I’m just saying, if they wanted to be, they totally could. You know.

It also gives bloggers and thriving photographers a chance to shine in the web-arena, not to mention, analog photography makes me particularly happy. And when I’m happy, the whole world is happy with me. Or was that an unusually perky Facebook advertisement for Valium? Sometimes I mix those two up. And when I say ‘those two” I mean Valium and reality.

SHOW ME THE LIST OF TASKS, SHOW ME IT NOW!

    1. SHOOT SOMETHING THAT MAKES YOU HAPPY.
    2. SHOOT SOMETHING FUNNY.
    3. SHOOT YOUR FAVOURITE PAIR OF SHOES.
    4. SHOOT THE NEXT MEAL YOU EAT.
    5. SHOOT A FRIEND.
    6. SHOOT THE VIEW FROM YOUR WINDOW.
    7. SHOOT A SELF-PORTRAIT.
    8. SHOOT YOUR WHEELS.
    9. SHOOT A GIRL.
    10. SHOOT A BOY.
    11. SHOOT YOUR WORK PLACE.

HOW CAN I PARTAKE IN THE DISPOSABLE PROJECT?
Let me know if you want to take part in this project, either by commenting on this post or e-mailing me your postal details ( iamjayjayne @ gmail.com). I have several disposable cameras (with flash + expired film) at the ready to send off – and I’m keen to get people from all over the world involved. IF YOU WANT TO START SOONER YOU MAY PURCHASE YOUR OWN CAMERA AND E-MAIL ME FOR RULES + “SHOOT LIST”. Of course, to participate, you have to be willing to adhere to these simple rules:

    i) You will promise to finish the list.
    ii) You will promise to send back the camera. So you’ll probably have to have a spare $10 on your person.
    iii) You will promise to not get cranky at me if I post up some horrible pictures. It’s totally not my fault. You took them.
    iv) Each camera comes with 27 EXP. You make make your own “SHOOT …” and add them to the list that comes with each camera. So go crazy.

AN EXAMPLE OF WHAT I MEAN:
Below is a scanned image of what inspired me to do this, back in the years of 2006, where I believed that grey was not a shade, but an actual way of life. Oh wait, I still believe that. In any case, ignoring my stickler attitude to belief paradigms, please note, this is essentially how much radness it is:

OTHER:
Now if you choose to do the “Disposable Project” yourself, without my camera backing, please feel free to spread the idea, and just link back to me here. REMEMBER: This project is called “The Disposable Project”, not the “I Carefully Selected 11 Photos From My DSLR Memory Card Project”. So if you do decide to launch commence your own Disposable Project, the camera, obviously, MUST BE DISPOSABLE. MMKAY?

After a little bit of Googling, I came across another project, similar to this one, The Disposable Memory Project – a fantastic idea as well – but I don’t have the means to instigate such a broad spectrum of photographic yumyums! Feel free to check it out yourself!

we’re leaving disposable cameras around the world. people are picking them up, taking a few photos and passing them on, eventually returning home – so we can tell their stories.

I would love to see your photographic efforts and in all honesty, I live to spread the gospel that is analog photography.

JAYJAYNE PROJECT DEPT.; DISPOSABLE

41 thoughts on “JAYJAYNE PROJECT DEPT.; DISPOSABLE

      1. yehh i think itll be better to do it over here~ but i only have around 2 and a half weeks left. do you think itll get here in time? if not ill supply the cam πŸ™‚

        1. Haha – I’m not sure it’ll get there in time D; AUSPOST is such a silly bugger! And if it did, it would only be in your hot little hands for 2 days before you would have to post it back! D;

          I would probably be safer if you did it there! I shall e-mail you the information sheet as soon as I can! (tomorrow!)

  1. Leanne says:

    I am so in!! Just worrying about costs of developing for you… Wouldn’t it be cheaper for us to develop it?

  2. I have no talent in photography whatsoever, but I think you’re absolutely spiffy for giving other bloggers a chance to try their hand in it~

  3. Nancy says:

    If you’d like some Californian perspective in this, I’d love to participate. πŸ˜€ (It happens to be scorching hot here too…112F/44C).

      1. theteadrinker says:

        yay I’m getting excited!! I shall change the workplace to school, I’m still bumming off my parents. WOOOTS!

Leave a Reply

