WEDDINGS ARE BEAUTIFUL; SO WHAT THE CRAP AM I SUPPOSED TO WEAR TO THEM?

So, I’ve been so busy lately – mostly busy doing nothing in particular except celebrating random things and eating glorious amounts of food and trying not to fall over from my own gluttony. However, let’s just stick to celebrating random things – and this random thing I’m about to cover is a wedding. We all love weddings. And love. And Disney movies.* And so, here’s me celebrating a wedding by poncing about with a camera that, in the end, gave me a very attractive wrist sprain. BUT IT WAS TOTALLY WORTH IT.

The problem in the morning, for me, in any case, was trying to decide what to wear. As an unspoken rule, me and dresses (dresses and I) don’t seem to get along. I don’t like them. They don’t like me. Whenever I pick up a dress from a rack of clothes, it’s usually black. It usually goes way past my knee and it usually has sleeves you could hide an entire chicken in. Lets just say, when it comes to “Dressing Up For A Party” I’m the one chuffing around in a pair of jeans, or just trying to blend into the background whilst wearing a dress that makes me feel ridiculous. Just ask my friend Fiona – we spent the entirety of a day (the time not spent stuffing our faces with fruit toast, coffee, burgers, beer and more coffee) attempting to scavenge a dress for me to wear to this event. It just didn’t happen. Also, I have the fashion sense of a 60-year-old grandma. Admittedly, this is not a particularly a bad thing when one is supposed to be taking part in being 1/3 of the photography staff on hand – but still, I had to maintain some sort of dress-decorum. I could not just turn up in jeans and chuff around.

So, I essentially wore this:

ARTISTS IMPRESSION: Not the exact same items in my outfit. But close enough.

So, I wasn’t the classiest kid on the block, but hell, I was probably the most comfortable. Somewhere between the start of the morning and the evening, I performed two super-special-awesome outfit changes. In one, I switched out the maxi for a Cue knee-length business skirt and Tony Bianco patent leather wedges. In the second, I switched out my oatmeal tee (on which I had a coffee malfunction in the morning) to a Cue puffy-shouldered shirt. The belt was Derek Lam, for Cue. Do you see a reoccurring theme? Yeah, the theme is: I STEAL CLOTHES FROM MY SISTER.

MY GOODNESS: I have a fat chipmunck face in this shot. BUT MY HAIR LOOKS GLORIOUS. GLORIOUS GLORIOUS GLORIOUS.
I WAS WEARING: Sunglasses hanging from my top. For the entire wedding. I'm such a douche. Yes, that old balding cute man is my dad. We're just as crazy as each other.

This was supposed to be a post about the great wedding. It turned into me talking about clothes and my inability to style myself. Also, about how dorky I am. Well, I suppose there’s always time for me to go on about wedding at a later date. I hope you’re all dealing with this. I have about three months of blog posts to squish out of my brain. I may forget things. I may add a llama in where a llama was most certainly not. I am also listening to Angus & Julia Stone, so things are pretty bleary at the moment.

*Most of us, anyway. Those that don’t, we don’t mention. They’re dead to us.
WEDDINGS ARE BEAUTIFUL; SO WHAT THE CRAP AM I SUPPOSED TO WEAR TO THEM?

8 thoughts on “WEDDINGS ARE BEAUTIFUL; SO WHAT THE CRAP AM I SUPPOSED TO WEAR TO THEM?

  1. theteadrinker says:

    agreed!! you look amazing. And can’t believe your dad pulled a face, mine would be like ehh no.

    1. My dad is very cheeky and a bit of a brat – also he says the most random things at the most random times. We’ll be talking about something like burst spleens and he’s interject with: “MY PAPAYAS ARE RIPE!!”

  2. Dude, that’s a pretty a casual outfit for a wedding but it’s totally cute and chic nonetheless.

    Speaking of cute, the photos of you and your dad are priceless! Love the faces that you guys are making, obviously we can see where you pick up your crazy facial expressions from!

    1. It’s really really casual! I’m trying to find something nice and conservative (in length) to wear to these things. IT IS IMPOSSIBLE! D:

      Yes, my dad is a nutball and absolutely adorable!

      😀

Leave a Reply

