MY KIND OF BEAUTIFUL; EATING X WALKING

I love going out with my friends – trying new places and eating delicious food – no pretense and so need to dress up – just good old fashioned fun, food and aimless wandering. Luckily, I have friends who also love the same philosophy – tongues wagging over piles and piles of food, clubbing-fiends need not apply. A few weeks back, a friend of ours, Cliff, decided it would be a good idea to finally take my boyfriend and I out on a dinner trip for our birthdays (VERY BELATEDLY). So, off we went, to Portofino in New Farm to consume piles upon piles of delectable pizza and variations thereof.

FOR REFERENCE, WE ATE:

  1. Bruschetta – toasted ciabatta, diced tomato, fresh basil, red onion, olive oil and balsamic glaze.
  2. Salad – Grilled chicken, goats cheese, mint, croutons, mixed lettuce salad with balsamic vinaigrette.
  3. Pizza, Regina – tomato, mozzarella, ham, mushroom and oregano.
  4. Pizza, Salami – tomato, mozzarella, chilli, salami and olives.
  5. Pizza, Prosciutto – tomato, mozzarella, prosciutto and rocket.
  6. Pizza, Capricciosa – tomato, mozzarella, olives, anchovies and capers.

BEST BRUSCHETTA EVER: toasted ciabatta, diced tomato, fresh basil, red onion, olive oil and balsamic glaze. FEEL THE HUNGER!


BELIEVE IT OR NOT: This was the first time my sister had ever tried a Peroni. Consider me shocked. SHOCKED, I TELLS YOU!

After filling up on pizza and delicious bruchetta, we decided to risk the sogginess of the pitter-pattering rain and take a stroll down to Shlix to feast upon scrumptious gelato. Especially since one of our friends had very pro-actively sought out a $15 coupon, we managed to feast upon sorbet for the great price of nada. Let me tell you, and I’m not just telling you this because I’m Asian, but things that are free, are somehow more delicious!

HEY THERE SORBET: Kathy noms up some sorbet whilst still looking adorable.
CLIFF: Feasting on delicious icy sugar.

Brisbane is such a lovely city – and since it was both freezing cold and rainy, very few denizens were out creating trouble in the Valley (which is infamous for it’s many denizens and much trouble) – so we managed to frolick through the streets whilst feasting on our sorbet, window shopping and commenting on disturbing (yet wonderfully creative) window displays. Lucky for me, I have friends that are willing to listen to my whimsy when I demand they stay still or “WALK VERRRRRYYY SLOWLY OVER THERE”.

NOTHING SAYS CLASS: Like taxidermied pidgeons.



MY KIND OF BEAUTIFUL; EATING X WALKING

10 thoughts on “MY KIND OF BEAUTIFUL; EATING X WALKING

  1. Everything looks exceptionally delicious, as always I’m famished after seeing your food pictures.

    And I completely sympathize with you, I’m surprised I still have friends considering that when I have the camera in my hand I become an art photography director.

    1. Haha, I think I’m permanently making people feel extremely hungry!

      Yup, I start making ridiculous demands – also, people aren’t allowed to eat until I’ve taken enough shots from all different angles.

      BWAH HAHAHA!

    1. Haha, yeah, I’ve been trying to add some variation to my pictures, but they all just turn out to be … food.

      FREE gelato is THE BEST gelato!

  2. okay…WHAT THE EFF IS “ROCKET??”” WHAT IS “ROCKET??” do we have rocket in the states? not entirely sure. I saw “rocket” when I was in london last week, and I was too ashamed to ask what rocket was…haha, no really…

    what’s rocket…

    ps. i need u to update my link on your daily read, I was actually surprised to see myself there :,)

    pps. everytime i come here the layout is different keeps me intrigued and jealous of your unbelievable design skillez…

    ppps. that vs. journal sounds amazing. It different sounds like another journal/diary/planner/sketchbook I totally need then abandon…:/ srsly tho i got to stop doing that….

    pppps….what is frankie magazine as well…I NEED TO KNO MORE ABOUT THIS BECAUSE ITS KINDA AMAZING..

    ppppps. I know this has be long and somewhat contrived but ive been gone for like year in internet time and i have so many questions jayne…SO MANY >:)

    1. Haha, okay, for firsties, rocket, also known as arugula – is salad green which is rich in vitamin C and potassium – it’s also delicious!

      YES, I will update that link ASAP – and I only keep changing because there’s always something that bugs me about the layout – PERFECTIONIST!

      That mustard yellow little book of awesome is chillaxing next to my desktop as we speak. Talk of the devil, I had better do another one soon!

      FRANKIE magazine – MY FAVOURITIST MAGAZINE ON THE FACE OF THE PLANET?! Haha, it’s an Aussie-based indie magazine that I’ve been following ever since it’s wee days – you should totally get into it – it’s worth it! http://www.frankie.com.au/

      LOL – D/W I haven’t been blog-hunting for a while! MUST GET BACK INTO IT!

Leave a Reply

