ONE FOR ONE: TOMS

I’ve been frantically searching for a pair of black shoes for a long time that breached the gap between casual and formal – something that was both comfortable and easy to dress up and down – and I do believe I’ve FINALLY found a pair of these – and yes, they are Toms. TOMS Shoes is a for-profit company that is based in Santa Monica, California, which also operates a non-profit subsidiary, Friends of TOMS. The company was founded in 2006 by Blake Mycoskie, a bloke from from Texas who also competed in the second season of The Amazing Race (really). The company basically designs and sells lightweight shoes which are based on the Argentine alpargata design – a design have been worn by Argentina farmers for hundreds of years – impressive, right?

Yes, I have realised that they DO look like kung fu shoes, and as one who is indeed that-way ethnically inclined I should refrain from purchase “stereotypical” shoes – but I don’t care – there are far too many reasons to buy these shoes, all of which greatly outweigh the single (and quite frankly, shallow)  negative.

YES: I cleared out my pantry to take these shots. I'm just THAT dedicated.
YES: The TOMS are sitting on top of a new box of oats. Don't tell my sister.
YES: Leather soles with adorable canvas lining - this one has cute little safari animals. CUTE ATTACK!
YES: Classic black for classic winning.

FIRSTLY: For every pair of TOMS Shoes purchased, a pair of new shoes is given to a child in need – which is where the “One For One” motto comes into play. Over 1,000,000 pairs of shoes have been given to children under the One for One movement since TOMS launched in 2006. The canvas shoes have been given to children in more than 20 countries worldwide, including the United States (Louisiana, Kentucky, Mississippi and Florida), Argentina, Ethiopia, Rwanda, Guatemala, Haiti, and South Africa. Quite frankly, these shoes make for a strange way to be both comfortably fashionable and altruistic.

SECONDLY: They’re incredibly comfortable – and as a victim of “sweaty foot” I find that the shoes are surprisingly (and simultaneously) breathable and squishy – which is unexpected of a shoe boasting a leather foot-bed and rugged canvas upper. I’m planning to use them as a much warmer alternative to wearing flats through the icy seasons. The really great things is, not only are they great to run about in a care-free manner, but knowing that they truly are comfortable and high-quality makes me happy to know that the kids tare getting a sweet pair of shoes.

THIRDLY: The design and slimness of the shoe make it super easy to mix up in a huge variety of different outfits – I mean, people are even known to wear these shoes to weddings. REALLY. WEDDINGS, FOLKS. They come in a HUGE variety of colours – and apparently – styles. I say “Apparently Styles” as the bulk of Australian retailers do not stock the full range of styles that are available in the YOU, ESS OF AY. However, the one’s we DO have available are still pretty fantastic – I picked up a pair of simple black ones (AUD $80) so I could match them up with my huge selection of maxi-skirts and over sized sweater-legging combinations. For reference, I was actually wearing this outfit today:

+ BOYFRIEND BLAZER
+ OVER SIZED KHAKI SHIRT (buttoned to the top)
+ DISTRESSED BLACK WEAVE SWEATER (layered over the shirt)
+ SKIRT LEGGINGS (ingenious idea, great to avoid the “leggings as pants” plague)
+ CASIO DATABANK GOLD CALCULATOR WATCH (worn with spunk)
+ BROWN SATCHEL (worn across the chest)
+ BLACK TOMS (worn with ‘tude)

CLEARLY, WINNING.

ONE FOR ONE: TOMS

15 thoughts on “ONE FOR ONE: TOMS

  1. cincincintya says:

    I love the lining print!! And plus the fact that it is kung-fu shoes makes it even better! 😀
    Your outfit is just the epitome of coolness~

  2. First, I was super against TOMs just b/c the shoes were so expensive for some canvas shoes. Then I finally got some (red ones to wear under my wedding dress last month) and LOVED them. Super light and comfy and yes, GREAT for foot sweaters. But now my pair that I’ve been wearing for ONLY 3 months are already falling apart. The back heel part of the canvas is all worn down and tearing. Boooo.

    1. They are pretty pricey – I have to admit – but then again, it’s like buying two pairs of shoes at a time!

      Oh, that’s cute – I wanted to get a pair of red ones as well – but we’ll see how these go first – I was a little concerned about the longevity of the shoe, but reviews are pretty mixed – depending on how each shoe fits/how the individual walks – so I’ll get to see first hand how long they last!

  3. TOMS have been all over the town. My best friend absolutely adores TOMS and she has one in just about every color! They’re a bit too pricey for me right now, but I might get one by the end of summer… They also have wraps which do look pretty cool too. But yes, enjoy your TOMS! 🙂

      1. Haha, yeah -they’re pretty addictive – and I need a red pair – I REALLY do!

        They are a little expensive – and are actually on sale at the moment in Australia (a selection of them) – which is pretty win!

  4. sam says:

    I too, hadn’t wanted any because they’re so damn expensive, but then I realized that a) I like the way they look and b) I usually spend that much on shoes anyways.

    That said, you’ve converted me. As a poor university student who’s going to need a second job to pay for everything I really shouldn’t be buying another pair of shoes buuuuut …what the hell. I want them and I need some summer shoes.

    1. I actually finds their appearance really quite nice – a causal beach shoe? Haha, but this was kind of out of character for me, since I don’t usually spend much on shoes (surprising, I know)!

      SUMMER SHOES! YES!

      Ironically, it’s Winter here in Oz!

  5. I really like the safari print! I was close to buying Toms a few times but never did because everyone who I ever went shopping with told me to not get it. I’m really curious as to how they fit now though since all of my current shoes are dying and I’m in need for a new pair.

    1. The safari print is really adorable!

      HATERS GONNA HATE, YA’LL!

      They fit alright – I bought a size bigger than I usually do – because I really just wanted an easy-to-slip-on-and-off shoe (an 8) – they’re pretty slim fitting all the same – should take pictures to show you! Will do, soon!

  6. Those definitely look comfortable, perhaps not as comfy as crocs, but WAY less ridiculous-looking.

    I love the animal prints inside and the overall simplistic design. I love it!

    1. Yeah, I love the feel of Crocs – shame they look absolutely hideous! These are super comfortable and don’t look as mad! 😀

      The print is so cute – so Zakka-homemade and adorable!

Leave a Reply

