OH, SUCH HEAVENLY SOUNDS: SEEKER LOVER KEEPER.

OOPS, RAN OUT OF E’S.

Just the other night, I had the stunning opportunity to head out for a delightful evening of music and well, intense echoing. That’s right, I (and four other friends) managed to score tickets to Seeker Lover Keeper‘s last big tour (for the foreseeable future) – and yes, this event was sold out SUPER FAST. We had the opportunity to listen to the stunning combination of Sarah Blasko, Sally Seltman and Holly Throsby – three of the most recognisable and hauntingly beautiful voices in Australian music.

“They’re all really historic, beautiful buildings so it was partly the acoustics and also wanting to do something really different, I guess, and special,” Throsby says.

I could warble on about each of their respective talents, but I won’t because I’m not sadistic – plus their own website pretty much tells you all you need to know about them. Except possibly how many moles they have. As, I imagine, that would either be an astonishing breach of privacy, or just plain stalkerish in nature.

One of the most amazing tracks that really resounded with me, though, was one of Sally’s contributions – a song called “Rest Your Head On My Shoulder” – which sounds like a classic round-the-piano folk song with a strong, reassuring chorus –

Rest your head on my shoulder/
And I’ll take care of your worries/
It was you who promised this to me/
It was you who offered me courage.


THE GREAT SALLY SELTMAN, HOLLY THROSBY, SARAH BLASKO.

Even Though I’m A Woman


I got a secret/ I think I’m in love with missing you/ More than I’m in love with you.
Light All My Lights

long for a spark, for a light/ A dawn for my long, sleepless nights/
And you keep an eye on me tonight/ And we’ll be a light all of our lives.
On My Own

I’m looking for something/ That’s being buried underground for years/
And it’s so old that even I don’t know/ If I would recognize it anymore/ On my own.

KOOKY TIMES.

THE BEAUTIFUL VAULTED CEILING.

Set at the St John’s Cathedral – an imposing gothic-styled cathedral – we managed to get a few fairly unpleasant seats – mainly because a large portion of the seating was actually unreserved – the line of sight was fairly monstrous. Fortunately, the voices of the girls resonated through the cathedral with amazing clarity – if their voices had been shouty (like the unfortunate pre-show fellow) the sound would have been garbled and incomprehensible – but with clear notes and heaven-sent vocals their voices soared into the vaulted ceiling.

CARPARK CLOYNESS.

Merch-wise, my friend Fiona, and I managed to score some sweet Seeker lover Keeper tees – which are absolutely lovely – despite the fact that the smallest size available was a female large. The shirt hangs a little long in the sleeves and torso – but I’m planning to have the hem taken up by Mumma-Dearest (because I still live at home, I’m just that awesome).

MOMENT OF AWESOMENESS: I nearly ran face-first into Benjamin Law at the door when checking the coffee-line-up-status. I was actually standing behind him and checking out his great shoes. BRUSH WITH FAME.

PS. All pictures on this night were taken with my dear boyo’s new Fuji X-10. But that’s a for a later post (it’s beautiful and all you want to do is rub your face with it).


OH, SUCH HEAVENLY SOUNDS: SEEKER LOVER KEEPER.

7 thoughts on “OH, SUCH HEAVENLY SOUNDS: SEEKER LOVER KEEPER.

  1. cincincintya says:

    I wanted to go watch them but the Perth tickets were sold out DDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD:
    Glad you got to watch them though! Must’ve been epic 😀

Leave a Reply

