CEREMONIALS: FLORENCE + THE MACHINE AT THE RIVERSTAGE.

Image

Image This weekend I had the amazing opportunity to go and see/enjoy/singallofthesongs Florence + the Machine in concert at what is commonly known as the Riverstage. For the purposes of this blog, it will now be known as The Hyper Green – as every bit of lawn in the place came up a fluorescent green on camera. Yes, that’s right – FLUORESCENT GREEN. I swear, if I had claimed a tuft, I could of smeared all over my university reports.

Image
Our little spot on the green – we left the younger ones to claim stage-side moshin’-spots. I’m far too old to try that.
Image
I kind of hate that I didn’t pay the extra to get actual tickets – print-outs are just not the same.

After bumbling through work, I managed to gather my mind together, roll myself into a warm-ish outfit and after a quick stop-off to pick up both friends (Tim + Fi) and a few cheeseburgers from MacDonald’s (we picked up the cheeseburgers from MacDonald’s…not our friends), we were on our way.

Image

Image

We managed to pluck a little parking spot just off Southbank’s Goodwill Bridge, and after a brisk and extremely cold stroll/hop (it was that cold), we were at the concert grounds, ready to roll – passed through the gates with flying colours and managed not to have anything conficated. I was a little concerned about the camera – but I shouldn’t of been. So many pre-teens were at this event, it would of been a Feat of God to prevent photography. In my fear, I neglected to bring my EP-1, and instead Nan’s Fuji X-10 tagged along with us. I severely regret this – as the X-10’s zoom is limited, shaky and very…how do I say this? Electronic? As someone who is used to a bit of weight in her camera, it made me a little uncomfortable. Well, that could of been the fact that I had sat on a lump of wet dirt – but either way, uncomfortable.

Image

“I want my music to sound like throwing yourself out of a tree, or off a tall building, or as if you’re being sucked down into the ocean and you can’t breathe. It’s something overwhelming and all-encompassing that fills you up, and you’re either going to explode with it, or you’re just going to disappear.”

– Florence Welch.

Image

We managed to gain a little plot of land on a hill (too old to wait near the stage), Tim managed to obtain a plate of “Malaysian” chow (which he seemed to enjoy, so it must of been half-decent) and we all bought bottles of $4 water, hunkered down on our drop sheet and waited. After a bit, I decided I really needed to get some things from the gig store – and with a face full of concentration, Nan and I braved the endless sea of feet and picnic blankets to return to the merchandise booth – I managed to score a Ceremonials Logo Tee and the Florence + the Machine Logo TEEAAAACCCCUUUUUP!

Image

Image

Image

That’s right, a freaking tea-cup. I managed to score the very last one at the store – and when I say Very Last – I actually mean the display one. Suffice to say, I was psyched. I am also a little broke right now, but it was TOTALLY WORTH IT.

Image

Image

I quote only out of laziness:

While there were seven members of the band on stage (and two backup singers who more than held their own against her imposing voice throughout the night), all eyes were on Welch and her unmissable mane of long red hair as she either bounded or glided across the stage.

Wearing what appeared to be a black lace and velvet jumpsuit and draped in a black and white cape trimmed with gold – she started the night with Only If For A Night and What the Water Gave Me (both from Ceremonials) before turning to old favourites Cosmic Love and breakout hit, the cover You’ve Got the Love.

Read more: http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/

But by far, my favourite song of the night? Was No Light No Light – which she only sang after we had chanted her same for the encore – and yes, she went to town on a large silver-sparkled drum, the sky filled up with flashing light and I sincerely hoped that there were no epilesy-suffers in the audience.

CEREMONIALS: FLORENCE + THE MACHINE AT THE RIVERSTAGE.

2 thoughts on “CEREMONIALS: FLORENCE + THE MACHINE AT THE RIVERSTAGE.

Leave a Reply

